Koplewitz, Laura Website
of Port Jefferson, New York

Ukiyo-E for Clarinet and Piano
5'30" $ 6.00 #040107 AP 717

Ukiyo-E (meaning "floating world") is an homage both to the genre of Japanese prints depicting waves and other scenes from nature and to the Impressionist composer, Claude Debussy, who was drawn to the Japanese prints.


Laura Koplewitz was raised in Northern Vermont and now divides her time between New England and New York City. She studied music, literature, and philosophy at Hampshire College (B.A), New York University (M.A.), and the City University of New York Graduate Center (Ph.D. enroute). Her composition mentor was Joan Tower, with additional training and influence from Thea Musgrave and Tania Leon.   Her works include music for solo, duo, and small chamber ensembles. In 1993 she was a Visiting Scholar at Columbia University on a National Endowment fellowship to study interdisciplinary aspects of 'time.' Her String Quintet was premiered at Harvard in 2007.

Laura Koplewitz is a graduate school professor  at S.U.N.Y./ Stony Brook, NY. She has been an artist-in-residence at the Atlantic Center for the Arts and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.

Recent compositions include Lake Spirit Journey, commissioned by Jaime Laredo for the Vermont Symphony Orchestra, and Upon a Dream of Enlightened Shadows, a violin concerto written for Joanna Kurkowizc, concertmaster, Boston Philharmonic, along with chamber music commissioned by the Vermont Contemporary Music Ensemble. (The composer may be contacted via email:  lkcomposer@yahoo.com.) Arsis Press has published her Ukiyo-E for clarinet and piano.

Email us