Bolz, Harriet (1909-1995)

Floret-A Mood Caprice for Piano
3'42" $ 6.00 #040063 AP-101

Marked Allegretto, this one-movement piece contains a repeated, one-measure LH pattern at the beginning that recurs near the end with a different melodic part in the RH along with some demanding octave passages in the central sections.


Two Profiles for Piano
3'30" $ 6.00 #040064 AP-102

Compositions of elegant simplicity, contemporary and lyrical. The first profile is marked Simple, graceful and the second is Gay, debonair.

Capitol Pageant for Piano Duet
4' $ 7.00 #040128 AP-201

A favorite one-movement piece for two-piano teams.


Narrative Impromptu for Harp
5'30" $ 6.00 #040124 AP-734

The subtitle to the piece is Street of Dreams.


Episode for Organ-Autumn Joy
3' $ 6.00 #040087 AP-204

This piece is an arrangement of the first movement of the Sonata for Cello and Piano which was written by Harriet Bolz for her cellist son when he was in high school. She later arranged the first movement of the Sonata for organ to be played at his wedding, and it is in this version that the piece has been frequently performed.

Sonic Essay and Fugue for Organ
7' $ 6.50 #040088 AP-205

Contemplative and fresh, the piece is marked Andante con moto.

How Shall We Speak?
SATB with piano or organ accompaniment
$1.25 #040009 AP-509

A forthright challenge to all to put faith into action. An anthem of moderate difficulty.

Sweet Jesus
SAB with piano or organ accompaniment
$1.25 #040010 AP-510

Awarded First Prize in the National League of American Pen Women Biennial SAB Choral Competition in 1974. Singularly appropriate as an anthem for Holy Communion, Sweet Jesus is contemplative and inspiring.

A private student of Paul Creston and Leo Sowerby, Harriet Bolz followed her career in music largely in Ohio, studying at the Cleveland Institute of Music, then graduating from Case Western Reserve University with a B.A. and earning an M.A. in composition at Ohio State University.

Her music has been heard in major cities throughout the country, including performances at Lincoln Center, and in Chicago, and Washington, D.C. Arsis Press has published her Episode-Autumn Joy, and Sonic Essay and Fugue for organ, Floret-A Mood Caprice and Two Profiles for piano, Capital Pageant for piano duet, Narrative Impromptu for harp, and two sacred choral pieces (How Shall We Speak and Sweet Jesus).

Other compositions are published by Sam Fox Publishing Company, Choral Art Publications, Beckenhorst Press, and Harold Branch Publishing. She is listed in Who's Who of American Women, the Dictionary of International Biography, and the Encyclopedia of Modern Music published in Germany.

Email us

We've gathered some of our favorite quotes here:
Quotes by Women of Note
Links to Our Favorite Sites